Opinion

In the world of social media, when a life is ‘lived’ online, how authentic can it really be? By Clem Bastow.

I tweet, therefore I am …

In the dark days when I was a music journalist, there was a phrase bands would often belch into my Dictaphone: “We’re making the music we love. If anyone else likes it, that’s just a bonus.”

Despite its flowery overtones, there was a shirking of responsibility inherent in it: “If you don’t like what my music has to say, you can get stuffed.” 

I think about that phrase a lot these days, not just because I’m in recovery from music journalism, but because it reminds me of so many people’s approach to social media: “I am just expressing myself authentically online. If you don’t like it, you are censoring me.”

This authentic expression means everything is public: good times, bad times; emails and text messages from friends and family become “content”; emotional woes are tracked in real time with appropriate YouTube videos and animated GIFs.  

This idea of the authentic online self is no doubt amusing to anyone who has even a passing grasp of Baudrillard’s notion of simulacra, but Web 2.0 has tipped us headfirst into an era of unparalleled access to self-expression, to the point where not reacting or “sharing” becomes a “tree falls in the woods” question: if it doesn’t get documented on social media, is it real? 

A prominent death last month brings these questions, some of them unanswerable, to the fore. The loudest voices tend to belong to those whose quest for authenticity means that any grief shown by others for a person they “didn’t know personally” is bunkum. Beneath that roar is the strange quest for cultural/emotional capital inherent in demonstrating how much you care: “I once interacted with the deceased in a third-hand manner, this is a tough time for me.”