Friday, October 20, 2017

An end to Australian cars

Australian car making is officially dead. The last vehicle built at Holden’s Elizabeth factory in Adelaide is set

The news you need. Delivered free to your inbox. 7am weekdays.

Thursday, October 19, 2017

Citizenship restrictions fail in Senate

Controversial changes to the citizenship process have been voted down in the Senate, ending immigration minister …

Wednesday, October 18, 2017

Australia gets an energy policy

The federal government has unveiled its long-awaited …

Tuesday, October 17, 2017

Clean Energy Target abandoned

The federal government will release its new energy policy today after a party room debate this morning, where the Coalition will abandon the Clean Energy Target proposed by the Finkel review. While key crossbenchers such as Jacqui Lambie and Nick Xenophon …

Monday, October 16, 2017

Somali bomb blast kills hundreds

At least 230 people are dead after a truck carrying explosives detonated in the Somali capital, Mogadishu. The truck drove through a security checkpoint and exploded, igniting …

Friday, October 13, 2017

The High Court hearing into the eligibility of seven parliamentarians with contested citizenship has concluded, with the court intending to reach its decision “as soon as possible”. The three-day hearing made...

Thursday, October 12, 2017

More than a dozen high-profile actresses have accused Hollywood producer Harvey Weinstein of decades of sexual harassment and assault. The New York Times...

Wednesday, October 11, 2017

Scientists and politicians have reacted with bafflement after former prime minister Tony Abbott suggested climate change may benefit humanity. In...

Tuesday, October 10, 2017

Sydney Anglican Archbishop Glenn Davies has confirmed the Anglican Diocese of Sydney donated $1...

Monday, October 09, 2017

ABC election analyst Antony Green says independent Senator Nick Xenophon could become the next...

Friday, October 06, 2017

State and territory leaders are in “violent agreement” over the need for new anti-terror laws proposed by the federal government,...