Friday, May 25, 2018

Trump cancels North Korea summit

United States president Donald Trump has cancelled a meeting with North Korean supreme leader Kim Jong Un, derailing an ambitious attempt to improve diplomatic ties between the two nations. In

The news you need. Delivered free to your inbox. 7am weekdays.

Thursday, May 24, 2018

Victorian Labor to debate offshore detention

Victorian Labor will debate a motion to end offshore immigration detention. The motion, …

Wednesday, May 23, 2018

Rohingya refugee dies on Manus

A Rohingya refugee has died on Manus Island, raising the death toll in Australian offshore detention …

Tuesday, May 22, 2018

One Nation walks away from tax cuts

Pauline Hanson’s One Nation has abruptly withdrawn its support for the federal government’s corporate tax cuts, further reducing the likelihood the reform package will pass the senate. Speaking to

Monday, May 21, 2018

Labor questions UNHRC vote

Labor frontbencher Anthony Albanese has questioned the federal government’s opposition to a United Nations Human Rights Commission resolution to establish an independent inquiry into the deaths of more than 60 Palestinians last week.

Friday, May 18, 2018

The federal government has fallen short of banning live sheep exports, instead introducing higher standards for export ships and harsher penalties on companies that breach them. Ships will...

Thursday, May 17, 2018

Government MP Ann Sudmalis is battling to retain Liberal preselection for her marginal seat, setting the scene for...

Wednesday, May 16, 2018

The federal government has announced plans to give the Australian Federal Police the power to demand...

Tuesday, May 15, 2018

Israeli soldiers have shot and killed at least 55 Palestinians and wounded at least 2200 after protesters attempted to cross the border fence separating Gaza from Israel. The mass protest, which had been running for six weeks, began in response...

Monday, May 14, 2018

Women in the federal Liberal-National Party have protested after the dumping of government minister Jane...

Friday, May 11, 2018

New footage has emerged of a police car hitting an Indigenous teenager. In an...