Monday, May 25, 2020

Bushfire Royal Commission hearings begin

The first hearings for the bushfire Royal Commission begin today, with the initial two weeks to focus on climate …

Friday, May 22, 2020

Employees fear unsafe workplaces

A survey of workers finds most claim their employers are yet to implement

Thursday, May 21, 2020

Leaked plan for huge gas subsidies

A leaked draft report for the National Covid-19 Coordination Commission details …

Wednesday, May 20, 2020

Unanimous vote for Covid-19 inquiry

The World Health Assembly has unanimously voted in favour of a resolution calling …

Tuesday, May 19, 2020

China imposes barley tariff

China has followed through on a threat to impose an 80 per cent tariff on Australian barley imports from today, with the tax …

Friday, May 08, 2020

The national cabinet will meet today to consider a timetable for easing restrictions, as state premiers...

Thursday, May 07, 2020

Federal police are investigating a data breach in the early-access superannuation scheme, as Labor warns the hack could undermine confidence in the ailing COVIDSafe app. There...

Wednesday, May 06, 2020

Victoria’s Health Department was aware of a Covid-19 case at an abattoir weeks before the infections worsened, as private medical company Aspen Medical faces new allegations over handling of a Sydney nursing home outbreak. The Australian...

Tuesday, May 05, 2020

New Zealand Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern will participate in Australia’s national cabinet meeting of state and federal leaders today, to discuss a “trans-Tasman bubble” to open up travel and business between the two countries. Ardern, who will...

Monday, May 04, 2020

The ABC altered a story on Australia’s Covid-19 contact tracing app following a written complaint from the office of Prime Minister Scott Morrison, which criticised “unnecessarily alarmist” coverage of privacy concerns. Morrison’s senior media...

Friday, May 01, 2020

A draft voluntary code of practice allowing visits to dying relatives in nursing homes will be released today, as the national cabinet meets to discuss aged care restrictions. Council on the Ageing chief executive Ian Yates told The Sydney...