Friday, July 20, 2018

Five years of detention

Refugees, asylum seekers and advocates have marked five years since the reintroduction of Australia’s mandatory …

The news you need. Delivered free to your inbox. 7am weekdays.

Thursday, July 19, 2018

‘Nothing is going to bring those three kids back’

Liberal MP Craig Kelly has been widely criticised for suggesting Australia should stop seeking accountability …

Wednesday, July 18, 2018

Tamil asylum seeker deported

Australia has deported a 30-year-old Tamil asylum seeker, separating him from his wife …

Tuesday, July 17, 2018

‘I can't breathe'

An inquest into the death in custody of Dunghutti man David Dungay Jr has released video footage of five custodial officers violently restraining him in his cell shortly before …

Monday, July 16, 2018

Victory for France, Djokovic and Kerber

France has won the 2018 FIFA World Cup, downing Croatia 4-2 in the final at Moscow’s Luzhniki Stadium. Les Bleus led 2-1 at …

Thursday, July 05, 2018

Archbishop of Adelaide Philip Wilson will appeal his conviction for concealing child sexual abuse after being...

Wednesday, July 04, 2018

Catholic Archbishop of Adelaide Philip Wilson has been sentenced to 12 months’ imprisonment for...

Tuesday, July 03, 2018

The government of Nauru has banned ABC journalists from covering the upcoming Pacific Islands Forum. In a statement...

Monday, July 02, 2018

Hospitality, retail, fast food and pharmacy workers have worked their first weekend since reduced Sunday penalty...

Friday, June 29, 2018

Independent MP Andrew Wilkie has revealed former Australian Security Intelligence Service operative “...

Thursday, June 28, 2018

The mother of an Iranian refugee who died by suicide on Nauru two weeks ago has written to the Australian Border Force pleading for the return of her son’s remains for burial. In the letter, published in full...