Thursday, October 18, 2018

Queensland legalises abortion

Queensland has decriminalised abortion, with parliament voting to remove references to the procedure from the state’s 1899 criminal code. The bill, which makes abortion available on request at up to 22 weeks’ gestation and establishes 150-metre …

Wednesday, October 17, 2018

Indonesia trade deal in jeopardy

The Indonesian government has threatened to cancel a free trade deal with Australia after prime minister Scott …

Tuesday, October 16, 2018

Government backs racist Senate motion

A parliamentary motion proclaiming “it is okay to be white” by One Nation leader Pauline Hanson was narrowly defeated in the …

Monday, October 15, 2018

Neo-Nazis infiltrate Young Nats

The New South Wales Young Nationals has suspended processing new memberships and expelled several members with ties to fascist and neo-Nazi groups. Last week the ABC

Friday, October 12, 2018

MSF urges Nauru evacuation

Medical charity Médecins Sans Frontières has called on the federal government to …

Thursday, October 11, 2018

Prominent Liberals are at odds over the review into religious freedom’s recommendation that religious schools be allowed to turn away LGBT students. Prime minister Scott Morrison defended the recommendation,...

Wednesday, October 10, 2018

The federal government’s review into religious freedom has...

Tuesday, October 09, 2018

The United Nations has warned the world must eliminate coal-fired power in the...

Monday, October 08, 2018

Federal and New South Wales state politicians  have defended the decision to...

Friday, October 05, 2018

The federal government has shut the Christmas Island detention centre...

Thursday, October 04, 2018

The death toll from an earthquake and tsunami on the Indonesian island of Sulawesi has climbed to 1407,...